top of page

Wheels of War (MEng Project, UE4)


'Wheels of War' is a title we were given as a basis for an assignment. We were tasked with producing in Unreal Engine 4. It is accompanied by a research paper which can be found HERE

In my version, the player controls a vehicle with a gamepad and attempts to destroy AI vehicles which are trying to do the same to them. The research paper was about 'Orthogonal Unit Design', which basically means that all units must differ from one another, be distinctive and have behaviours a player can learn.

The vehicle meshes are available on the marketplace, but I stripped all of the code out before I started.

Initial vehicle aim testing and movement. Here we see the mouse being used to aim the turret.

In the next video, I have the machine gun working on the vehicle

In this next video, I have implemented procedural-generation of the buildings in the world. Since I did not have any useful buildings, I made some real quick ones in Blender 3D

In the next videos, the artificial intelligence starts to make an appearance

This is a pre-completion video showing some of the new additions, including the helicopter and the ability to collect items.

This video shows the final game in play.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page